RJH sponsors are: B'nai B'rith International and the Federation of Jewish Communities of Romania
 News and Events  Romanian-Jewish organizations outside Romania    versiunea romana        
Romanian-Jewish organizations outside Romania
ISRO Organizations

How many organizations of natives of Romania exist in Israel? Here is a partial list, that was gathered after a research in the Israeli press of Romanian language in the last years. Some of these organizations could be omitted, others could not exist anylonger, some chairmen' names could be spelled wrong. Readers of this web page who know about the existence of other organizations or who consider that some corrections should be made, are invited to let us know about them.

1. The Union of Jews Born in Romania - AMIR (more details about its leaders were mentioned above)
2. ACMEOR - The World Cultural Association of Native Jews Of Romania, Chairman: dr. Shlomo Leibovici Lais
3. World Union of Bukovina Jews, Chairman: Adv. Itzhak Artzi
4. Israeli-Romanian Friendship League, Chairman: Eng. Moshe Nagor
5. The Organization of Former Assirei Zion in Romania, Chairman: Moshe Talmon
6. Israel-Romania Chamber of Commerce, Chairman: Richard Armon
7. The Communitarian Center "Beit Iacov - Iosef rav Zwi Guttman", Chairman: rav Efraim Guttman, honorary presidents: rav Alexandru Safran, former Chief-Rabbi of Romanian Jews, and A. Goldstein - Goren. The Center is formed by:

  • "The synagogue "Beit Iakov Iosef - Rav Zwi Gutman", Chairman Arie Shapira
  • "Yad Zikaron Le Yahdut Romania, Chairman: Reuven Herscu, general in reserve
  • "The Organization of Zionist Askanim (Zionist activists natives of Romania), Chairman: eng. Baruch Tercatin
    8. HOR - central organization of Hitahdut Olei Romania; Chairman: Zeev Schwartz
    9. "Sara and Haim Ianculovici Foundation" which awards prizes to creator born in Romanian; Chairman: prof. dr. Izu Eibschitz, commettee members in Shlomo David, dr. Bela Aftenie, Biti Caragiale, Marta Constantinescu etc.
    10. Israeli Writers' of Romanian Language Association; Chairman: Shaul Carmel, commettee members Carol Isac, G. Mosari, Sonia Palty, Felix Caroly.
    11. SIR - Shevet Yehudei Romania - edited four books which subject was the activity of the natives of Romania concerning the foundation, the defense and the development of the State of Israel; in charge: Paltiel Segal
    12. The Jerusalem Cultural Circle; coordinators: Leon Volovici and Cornel Safirman
    13. Funds for prize awards:
  • "Nicu Palti" Creation Fund, created in the frame of the ACMEOR, awards annually four prizes at a sum of 1000 dollars each, sponsored by Palty family in memory of the publicist and editor Nicu Palty.
  • "Zion Prize" at a sum of 1000 dollars, awarded by Israeli Writers' of Romanian Language Association. and sponsored by the industrialist Bruno Landesberg.
  • The Creation Fund "Sebastian Costin", created in the frame of the Jerusalem Cultural Circle, awards a prize yearly at a sum of 1500 dollars in memory of the journalist and poet Sebastian Costin. The prize is sponsored by Eugenia Costin, Sebastian Costin's wife.
  • The "Felix Aderca" Dramaturgy Prize to the sum of 1000 dollars awarded by Adrian Marcus, the manager of "Adrian" tourist agency.
  • The Creation Fund "Iacob Groper" to the sum of 4000 dollars.
  • The "Mihail Sebastian Prize" awarded by Israeli Writers' of Romanian Language Association. sponsored by Adrian Marcus, the manager of "Adrian" tourist agency.
    14. The Organization of Israeli natives of Dorohoi and its neighborhood; Chairman: Shlomo David
    15. The Haifa Cultural Circle; the executive committee is constituted by (in alphabetic order): Bitti Caragiale, Marta Constantinescu, Madeleine Davidzon, Liana Saxone Horodi, Francisca Stoleru, Elvira Schefer
    16. The Haifa Saturday Mornings initiated and coordinated by Sara Ianculovici, at present coordinated by Shlomo David (in Hebrew language)
    17. HOR Jerusalem
    18. HOR Nazareth Illit; Chairman: Itzhak Moshe
    19. HOR Haifa; Chairman: Shmuel Reinish
    20. HOR Beer Sheva: prof. Natan Cohen
    21. HOR Naharia - Chairman: dr. Sergiu Climescu
    22. HOR Natania, Chairman: Ilan Shlomo
    23. HOR Carmiel: Moshe Flitman
    24. HOR Herzlia - Chairman: adv. Haim Ianai Ianculovici
    25. HOR Rehovot and neighborhood , Chairman: Kalmanovici Arie
    26. HOR Kraiot, Chairman: ing. H. Segalescu
    27. HOR Ashdod, Chairman: Max Gaer Specification: some of the local HOR associations do not belong to the central HOR
    28. The Israel-Romania Writers' Association; president - prof. dr. Riri Manor, honor presidents: Sami Michael - Israel, Eugen Uricaru - Romania,
    29. The Israel-Romania Cultural Center of Tel Aviv; Chairman: Tesu Solomovici
    30. Israeli Writers' of German Language Association; Chairman: Josef N. Rudel
    31. Israeli Writers' of French Language Association; chairwoman: Marlena Braester
    32. The Romanian Youth Zionist Foundation (Hanoar Hatzioni): Chairman: Itzhak Artzi, secretary Iakov Rosenzweig
    33. The "Gordonia" Romanian Youth Zionist Organization; Chairman: Moshe Zaltzman, secretary Iakov Wortman
    34. World Union of Bukovina Jews (U.M.E.B.), Haifa branch; Andy Rosengarten, Mehler Hana
    35.. U.M.E.B. - Jerusalem branch - Barkai Selma
    36. U.M.E.B - The Community of Campulung Natives - Klein Iosef Yulku
    37. U.M.E.B. - The Community of Gura Humorului Natives - Apter Shlomo, Jurgrau Jakob
    38. U.M.E.B. The Siret Natives Jewish Organization - Hollinger Rita
    39. U.M.E.B. The Vatra Dornei Natives Jews Association - Itzhak Yalon, colonel in reserve
    40. U.M.E.B. The Radauti Natives Jews Association, Grabstein Emil
    41. U.M.E.B. The Stanesti Natives Community - Sidi Gros
    42. U.M.E.B. The Storojineti Natives Community - Ferber Ruven
    43. The Bnai Akiva Organization; the executive committee: Dr. Shlomo Leibovici Lais, Arie Kupferschmidt, Shmuel Haham
    44. Renana - The Nazis' victims Organization; chairwoman: Semiretta Grossmann
    45. The Organization of the Invalids, Victims of Nazis' and their Allies; Chairman: Drori 46. The Romania Natives Centrist Party for Progress; Chairman: eng. Mircea Soschin
    47.The "Arcadia" Club
    48. B'nai B'rith
    49. The Israeli Natives of Barlad Association
    50. The Israeli Natives of Tecuci Association
    51. The Transnistria Orphans Association
    52. The Natives of Stefanesti Organizaton

    - back to previous page


  • Google